“Askhole: a person who repeatedly asks your advice but never takes it”

This week, my inspiration has sparked from a couple of different situations. I particularly liked the definition of an “askhole” above, which I read in the latest edition of Cosmopolitan (March 2016).

We all need friends to listen to us and share advice every now and then. However, what really gets my goat is people that cannot be comfortable in their own skin and be independent. Having grown up as an only child, I have always been extremely independent. In today’s society, teens and young adults “travel in packs of twos and threes” (P!nk – Stupid Girls) and cannot seem to make a decision without conferring with each and every member of their group. I simply cannot fathom why people cannot have enough faith in their own instincts and just do what you like. If I need to go to town and do some shopping then I am hella-happy to go and do it by myself, if there’s lunch involved, even better! In 2014, The Netherlands opened a restaurant called “Eenmaal” which is Dutch for “Once”, specifically for dinner reservations for those going solo and I am glad to inform you that it has been such a success that a branch has recently opened in London!

I have a huge obsession with cats and before you ask – yes I am single and I am going to end up as one of those crazy cat ladies – but you know what? I am going to be a happy and independent cat lady because I’ll have gotten into that situation by myself, without being an askhole (fully aware of how similar to a crazy cat lady I sounded there, by the way)! Besides cats being fluffy and adorable, I love them because of their independence. Of course I like dogs too but personally, I just find them a bit too needy and too similar to having kids – which I never want. Dogs are always like “walk me now, love me all the time” – my life is too busy for this kind of commitment. Cats, on the other hand can happily entertain themselves all day and appreciate the affection whenever you feel like giving it to them – great! You do you and I’ll do me and we’ll meet somewhere in between for some tickles and belly-rubs – yep, I can totally commit to this.

This also brings me to the connection between cats, independence, askholes and the dating world. Now that I am 21 and have returned home from my exchange in Amsterdam, I really have grown up a lot, learned a lot about  myself and what I truly desire in life. Of course we all want to find that special someone – for me it just hasn’t happened yet. I’m totally okay with being single. Honestly, I don’t see where I could find the time for a serious relationship and I’d rather wait until I know it is right than to settle for anything less than the best. Swiping through this dating app “Tinder” I realize I am not interested in the same types of guys as I used to. Now when I see pictures of guys partying in Ibiza wearing a onesie while holding a bottle of Lidl vodka in one hand and a rollie in the other I’m not thinking “ooh he looks like fun”, I’m thinking “so you’re 26 and this is how you want to present yourself to girls?” while swiping left.

So this is how it’s all connected; I am independent, because I am so independent and avoid askholes, I end up single forever and as my only fellow independent creatures are cats, once I have traveled the world, I purchase many feline friends and live happily ever after. I urge everyone not to settle for anyone, trust your own judgement – I know I’m not the only one as the rise of solo restaurants are underway – be independent, you are the only person in the world who knows best for you. Be more like cats!

I leave you with a picture of my cat, Princess, who sat into my car today. I took a picture of her on Snapchat as she looked so cute and put my phone down on the seat to pet her, and with her paw she set it as my Story. That’s my independent kitty – what have you done for you lately?

12751905_1122234051143976_534042264_o